Members are recruited by invitation, recommendation and group consensus. AMOHG members volunteer their time to attend AMOHG meetings and to contribute to the operation of the group. A current priority is to develop group membership drawn from a broad and diverse spectrum of age, experience and cultural backgrounds.

Click on each name for more details. Members of our steering committee are marked with * .

  • Barbara Alysen   is an Adjunct Fellow of Western Sydney University and the author of two journalism texts.
  • Alice Ansara has been an actor since the age of six, working across TV, film and theatre.
  • Martha Ansara is a retired, award-winning filmmaker, cinematographer and producer.
  • Ken Berryman was the first Manager of the Melbourne Office of the National Film and Sound Archive after its separation from the National Library of Australia in 1984.
  • Colin Bromley is a director, DoP and editor in the TV and music industry.
  • Dominic Casewas technical manager of film laboratories Colorfilm and then Atlab over thirty years, and a board member of the Australian Film Commission.
  • Elizabeth Craig has a background in the print industry, and was co-ordinator of FBIOHG (now AMOHG) for twelve years. She has conducted oral histories since 2005.
  • Rod Freedman is an independent director, producer and executive producer whose documentaries have won many Australian and international awards.
  • Lynn Gailey  was Director, Film Development at the Australian Film Commission and has worked in the film and television industry in a wide range of capacities.
  • Geoffrey Gardner  is a former director of the Melbourne Film Festival and a long time supporter of Australian film. He is Chair of the Organising Committee of Cinema Reborn, an annual festival of restored cinema classics..
  • Tom Jeffrey AM is a Film and TV Producer, Writer and Director. His best known movie is The Odd Angry Shot, which he wrote, directed and co-produced.
  • Tina Kaufman was the editor of the Sydney Filmmakers Coop monthly newspaper, Filmnews, for seventeen years.
  • +Richard Keys, Curator Emeritus with the NFSA, fell in love with films as a teenager.
              Richard Keys passed away on Friday 8 July 2022. See tributes here.
  • Dr Margaret Leask*, formerly an arts administrator in London and Sydney, has been an oral historian and performing arts historian since 2004.
  • Joshua Marks is a freelance documentary filmmaker, based at Fox Studios Australia.
  • Sue Milliken AO began producing in the 1970s.  Her credits include Sirens and Paradise Road.  She is a former chair of the Australian Film Commission.
  • Julia Overton* has worked in key decision making areas in both federal and state funding bodies in Australia, and as an independent producer and consultant.
  • Catherine Shirley*  (Chair, Jan 2020-Jun 2020) is the Executive Officer of the History Council of NSW.  She has held numerous Senior Executive roles at the ABC and the NFSA and as an Adult Educator.
  • Graham Shirley *  (Secretary, 2020)  is a film historian and archivist, documentary director, researcher and oral historian.
  • Malcolm Smith * has held senior management roles in film, television and new media organisations in Australia over a fifty year career.
  • Quentin Turnour * is the Assistant Manager of Film Preservation at the National Archives of Australia’s Audiovisual Preservation Section.
  • Storry Walton AM  *  a former Director of the Australian Film & Television School, has been a producer, director, writer and manager in television, radio and the visual and performing arts for over fifty years.